EDITORIAL Adults Push Kids in Wrong Directions

Editorial

Zia B. 

Have you ever felt pressure into the set ways of your society? I have. It’s not even the society at large but the small community of Fredericton High School.

Every student and teenager has the right to live their life according to their own plan. Yet knowing this we are still heavily influenced by the opinions of biased adults around us every day. In a community like Fredericton, our lives are laid out before us by the time we start kindergarten. We go to school, try as many extracurriculars as possible, work as hard as we can to get the best grades in high school, go to university, get a degree, start your career, get married, have kids, and then teach those kids how to complete the same life plan. I am currently in the high school phase where every mark counts. Can’t I, or any other unique person, break free of this trend? I’ve tried and it is not easy.

Generally when you think of the requirements to her into university, you automatically think of things like; math, chemistry, physics etc. but these are only necessary if you’re on that set life plan.to do any of the arts after high school you do not needs these to be accepted. So why should people like me be forced to take these courses to graduate. The answer is simple; they are the ‘difficult’ classes that all students should have to know. Even when I have the required classes to graduate, I am being forced to take things I do not want nor need. The second I suggest taking art instead of math, I get the look from whatever adult im talking to that is of the utmost disappointment. Like I am wasting my potential if I do not take that class. I know what I want to do, so shouldn’t I be able to take the actual courses I need without the backlash? The arts and histories should be just as respected as the maths and sciences.

Adults need to open their minds and expand the ‘life plan’. Not everybody wants to conform to our societies ways. Let us be free, and be able to excel in what we love. If the teachers at FHS give us art students the chance, I promise they won’t be disappointed. The way they see beauty may even change. Let us choose on our own the path we want to walk.

Leave a Reply

